Dinner Meeting minutes for April 21, 2015

We had a great pre dinner social time. This was followed at 18:10 by a baron of beef buffet with salads and all the trimmings. The meal was excellent as usual.

At 19:15, President, Peter Van Hee, opened the meeting with a warm welcome to the members and the guests present. He mentioned that this meeting being the AGM, there would be nominations from the floor and elections would take place.

Peter advised that we had two members pass away, Hilmer Anderson on April 7th and Gordon Brown, ex Air Canada mechanic. (Obit published April 18th.)
Director Laing read a letter from Hilmer’s daughter Sandra Todd giving a background as well as a tribute to her father. A moment of silence was held for the two men. Further it was mentioned that Alvin Martin’s wife, Gwen had dropped by this evening to advise that Alvin was home from hospital prior to going to hospice. She left some items from Alvin for the raffle this evening.

President Peter Welcomed any new or returning members then had the guests introduced. These included Rick Hatch, Andy Wallace and Mike Sporier.

News is that we have signed an agreement of affiliation with the BC Aviation Council and will link the websites.

The Minutes of last meeting were accepted as circulated on a motion by Bob Rorison which was seconded by Harold Thomas. Motion passed.

Membership: John Laing advised that we had no change in the membership from the last meeting. Three members have paid for next season and we have 57 paid and present this evening.

Treasurer: Harold Thomas presented his accounts for the last month and presented his financially reviewed Year End Report. His motion to accept his reports, which follow, was seconded by Bruce Bell. Upon question, the motion was unanimously passed.

Bruce Bell took a moment to thank all his committee members for their hard work this past year.

Board elections were run by Bob Rorison the Vice President who noted that volunteers for office are needed. You will note that he retained this position for another season.

Principal Officers:

Peter Van Hee was the sole nominee as President, after acceptance was acclaimed.
Bob Rorison was the sole nominee as Vice President, after acceptance was acclaimed.
Maureen Otway was the sole nominee as Secretary her written acceptance was acclaimed.
Harold Thomas was the sole nominee as Treasurer after acceptance was acclaimed.


John Laing was the sole nominee as Director - Membership, after acceptance was acclaimed
Bruce Bell was sole nominee as Director - Phoning Committee, after acceptance was acclaimed.
Dave Stafford was sole nominee as Director at large, after acceptance was acclaimed.
Henry Tenby was a sole nominee as Webmaster, after acceptance was acclaimed.
Peter Sleeman has agreed to remain the Financial Reviewer for the new season. Our thanks!

Break for 10 minutes.

Peter Sleeman introduced our guest speaker, Harry Hardy. After a technical glitch or two he proved to have some really interesting anecdotes and poked fun at some of his misadventures.

The question and answer period proved popular and many questions were asked and answered.

Peter Van Hee and Peter Sleeman thanked Harry for his excellent presentation.

The president reminded the members of:
our project is to digitize the record books and asked for help from anyone that can
QCAC’s participation next October in Henry Tenby’s Aviation Memorabilia show


A club logo hat was presented to the speaker as a thank you from the Club.
Hats were won by: Al Ashcroft, Lu Grahn, Andy Wallace. Other prize winners were Dennis Elton, Lloyd Moskaluk, Bob Rorison, Freida Franzen and Harry Baedek.

The meeting closed at 2135. The new season starts on October 20th. 2015.